Skip to content

Blog Photo Presentation – Opinions Needed

March 4, 2012

Black and Blue… Black or Blue?  I’m trying to be more purposeful and thoughtful about how I present my photos to all of you lovely readers. I don’t like how portrait photos and landscape photos don’t always line up nicely.  I prefer that the photo takes up the entire length of the blog.  This means needing to fill the other half of the space.  I decided I wanted to put a mat around my portrait photos.  However, I’m not sure if I like the blue or black better?  My goal is to keep the blog looking relatively modern and clean.

I use primarily blues, black, and white on the blog.  Should I stick to just one of these mat colors?  Maybe I should alternate?  I thought about using the mat color that works best for the photo, but that could start to look messy.  Black will likely work best with most photos.  Blue is more vibrant.

Which of these 2 presentation styles do you prefer?  Let’s hear your reactions.

From → Blog, Photography

5 Comments
  1. I like them both, so I vote for alternate! But if you had to pick just one, I’d probably say the black.

    • Thanks for the feedback. Because I keep going back and forth on this decision, I might have to keep playing with different colors.

  2. Staci permalink

    Out of your 2 options, I prefer the black. But, my favorite thing to do when choosing a color to use in these situations is to upload the photo I want to use to http://kuler.adobe.com/ and choose a color that’s already in the photo. It gives it a polished, cohesive look. (you can also choose your color using te eyedropper tool in photoshop 🙂 )

    • Good idea about the eyedropper. I kept going back and forth on this issue too! To either make the photo look polished or to keep the colors consistent with the blog. Oh the decisions. Thanks for your thoughts!

  3. I was going to write exactly what Staci suggested above! Loving all the posts about your blog transition so far!

Comments are closed.

