Skip to content

A Beautiful Immigration & Identity Story

February 26, 2012

Tan Le’s TED talk is inspiring, emotional, and beautiful.  A Vietnamese refugee who survived escaping from communist Vietnam via a boat, a refugee camp, life in Australia, and landing in the U.S. ahead of the game.  She tells a story of survival and achievement despite the trauma of being a refugee and the racism in Australia and the U.S.  Linked and sewn together through the bounds of three generations of women.

I have always said that I would one day sit down with each of my parents separately to record their war stories… their immigration stories… their journies… our families heritage.  The time has never been right.  It’s a sad story, my mom has said.  Why would anyone want to hear such a sad story.

It isn’t right that I hear other people’s story and I shed a tear for their family and their journey while my own story is tucked away and hidden.  I am vowing that the time has come.  I am going to get my parent’s story, my family story.  I vow to get it recorded within the next 5 years.  It would be my biggest regret if the story is lost forever.

Do you know your family’s story?

From → Life, Technology

One Comment
  1. I hope you get a chance to record your family story… even though it might not be pretty…it’s your story, and you should know it! 🙂

    One of my high school projects was to record my grandparents answering the following phrase… “Life is like…” these cassette tapes, (still need to get them digitized), have become one of my treasures… especially since my grandpa passed away the next year after the recording!

Comments are closed.

