Skip to content

Changing Blog Fonts

February 22, 2012

Fonts[image source]

Many of you might have noticed changes rolling over the blog in the last couple days.  The blog has even disappeared on a number of occasions.  Let’s just say that this switching to a self-hosted blog business has not been easy for this use-to-identity-as-tech-savvy gal.

I’m not trying to just get the blog looking respectable with all of the features that most people expect from a blog.  This has not been easy with my day job.  Strangely, I have been very stuck on the fonts.  I can’t seem to decide which fonts I like best and how “clean” I want the blog to look versus fun.  Or maybe I want a touch of whimsy with the titles.

I have always liked my banner.  I don’t think I’m ready to switch it quite yet. That said, I want a font that will match the Monika font.

What do you think?  What else would you like to see on the blog? I’m open to suggestions. /p

From → Blog

4 Comments
  1. If you like your header, leave it! It’s not necessary to be so matchy-matchy, in my opinion. Maybe think about adding a tagline somewhere to describe what your blog is about would help it feel more “together”? But if you think it reflects you, leave it! It’s your blog, you’re the boss!

    • admin permalink

      I added the tagline to the title, but I haven’t figured out how to add it to the page in a way that looks nice. I’ll definitely work on that. Thanks for giving me some assurance that the lack of matchyness is okay. Sometimes you just need to hear it confirmed. Thanks!

  2. Yes, but how’s about compatibility with my vsritois installed fonts? I mean, in you style.css you do use 3 fonts (mostly arial, times new roman, helvetia, sans serif ), for that every visitor is able to see a font he has installed on his machine.If i had a custom font and only do use this font, my visitor is forced to download the new font. If not, he might not be able to read anything right?This is a lot of guessing here, would be glad to get an answer on this topic. Because that is the reason i did not install any custom font until now. I do love customizing and did change almost everything, but not the fonts too scared!

    • great question Katy. You are right. There are fonts that are web-safe and others that are not. Generally, you want to stick to web safe fonts so that they can be viewed by the most computers. It’s also better for people who use programs to read web content. For example, if a person is visually impaired and requires a program to assist in their web reading. I know that I am very careful about my fonts when I teach for that reason.

Comments are closed.

