Skip to content

Anthropologie Layered Column Dress Alternative

February 6, 2012

Anthropologie Layered Column Dress for $178

I am utterly in love with the Anthropologie Layered Column dress.  I’m super petite, and I love the longer length on this dress.  I think it actually makes me look longer and leaner.  The biggest problem with the dress is the steep price.  While at Target seeking out the Jason Wu for Target items reviewed here, here, here, and here, I saw this dress.

Xhilaration Juniors Body Con Dress at Target for $19.99

Awfully similar isn’t it?  With the madness of hunting down Jason Wu items, I didn’t have the chance to try this dress on.  If you couldn’t pull the trigger on the Anthropologie dress, maybe this one could work for you.

From → Fashion

4 Comments
  1. I bought this dress a couple of weeks ago! Unfortunately, I had to return it because it was scandalously short for my long legs, but I loved the feel of it and it looked great. Would be great for a slim, petite figure.

    • You mean the Target dress, right? Soo good to know! Even though I have the Anthro dress, I’m so so curious about the Target one.

  2. Have to say, I’m a little disturbed that it is called a ‘Juniors Body Con’ dress. I don’t know what ages Target considers ‘junior’ but I’m thinking 10-14 year olds…. Should 11 year old girls really be wearing, or encouraged to wear a style of clothing where “The great thing about a body-con dress is that it pulls the two most important areas in and up – your chest and backside – making your boobs and bum look fabulous.”? http://www.mirror.co.uk/life-style/dieting/2009/10/12/your-guide-to-the-ultimate-body-con-dress-diet-115875-21741382/
    Even if we leave aside the over-sexualization of little girls, I feel that stuff that fitted could encourage eating disorders. I don’t mean everyone who buys the dress will suddenly stop eating, but it’s just a piece of the puzzle, another straw on the camel’s back in this situation.

    I’m not totally down on the style, I think that the Anthro dress looks great on all the adult bloggers I’ve seen it on… I just never thought there was a market for JUNIORS body con!

    • You make a really good point. The naming of this dress is very disturbing and Target really does need to be aware of that. This is especially true in the way they categorize these dresses for the online market. That might explain the shorter length that Ayesha reported.

      I’m not sure how it is nationwide, but at my store in Mass, this dress was displayed in the adult section next to the Jason Wu line, which is an adult line.

      That being said though, Xhilaration is very clearly a juniors line. Oh.. awareness is soo good and important! I’m definitely looking at this with a different lens now. Thanks for p

Comments are closed.

