Skip to content

{Review} Jason Wu for Target Sleeveless Chiffon Dress

February 5, 2012

Jason Wu Target Navy Floral Dress

This is the Jason Wu for Target Sleeveless Chiffon Dress in Navy Floral with Gold Belt in size XS.  It is sold out online, so you’ll have to find it in store.

* Cole Haan Black Air Violet Open Toe (available here, here and here; similar here)

The print of this dress really resonated with me.  It’s very sweet, yet very sophisticated.  I thought it would be a very good spring/summer teaching dress.  It’s a wonderful length for me.  I’m just barely 5 feet tall.

Jason Wu Target Navy Floral Dress 3

As you can probably tell from these photos, the dress is big for me.  It will definitely need to be slimmed down.  The floral chiffon is sheer.  There’s a navy lining underneath.  It shouldn’t be very difficult to slim down myself. 

Jason Wu Target Navy Floral Dress 4Jason Wu Target Navy Floral Dress 5

Without the belt, it instantly turns into a maternity dress.  On the one hand, I am of an age for a maternity dress might be handy at some point.  On the other hand, what the heck Jason Wu and Target?  This is an Extra Small?  Hello vanity sizing.  But I digress…

I like it enough to keep and do the slimming myself.  Has anyone else tried on this dress?  How do you like the fit?

Don’t forget to check out my review of the Jason Wu Cap-Sleeve Pleated Blouse in Belize Blue, the Short Sleeve Striped Tee, and the striped jersey dress.

*Watermarks are over the clothes so that eBay sellers don’t steal images for their evil purposes.

From → Fashion

8 Comments
  1. You could still wear the belt even if you’re pregnant, I think. Just wear it higher up! Wouldn’t that just give the dress an empire-waist look? Although… I wonder what that’d do for the hemline.

    • Ooo.. very true. I forgot about that. A belly would definitely make the hemline rise. Sexy pregers? Ok ok.. thank goodness that isn’t a concern for me.

  2. While it is super big without the belt, I love how this dress drapes when the belt is on. I got it too!

    • This is true. The more I think about it, the more I think it’s super versatile b/c it is more flouncy! Great sense of style, you and I 😉 Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Aki.

  3. I was kinda disappointed in the collection because everything looked so great in the campaigns and fit perfectly on the slender models, but all the pieces were so roomy! I bought the floral dress too and it was the only thing that I actually kept lol. I had to return the pink/yellow shift dress because it was very flat (i lack curves) and a blue cap sleeved blouse (was really cute but made me look a lot older than I would like). I love that the floral dress came with a mustard belt and it’s so flowy, so sweet and girly =D

    • Yeah, it was a tough one for the slender, petite ladies. I really loved the details, but the sizing really didn’t work for me. I’ll be doing a lot of DIY slimming. A bit disappointed about that, but I guess it’s not all that uncommon for me to have to alter my clothes. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  4. I SO SO SO wanted this dress to fit me, but the chest area was….saggy…let’s just say it reminded me of the scene in The Proposal where Sandra Bullock puts on the old wedding dress and the boobs are all saggy…and Betty White mentions that it is like going “on an Easter egg hunt!!!” Haha!!!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. {Review} Jason Wu for Target Straw Clutch | Our Wired Lives

Comments are closed.

