Skip to content

All You Need is Love–Family and Facebook

February 2, 2012

lovemini_edited-1

Family… can’t live with them, can’t live without them.  Who is with me?  I’m not talking figuratively this time.  I’m talking literally.  I am a born and raised San Diegan.  I left my family to go to college in Los Angeles then graduate school in Chicago.  Now, I’m all the way out in New England.  I can’t live with them.

FormalPortraits239

via Hanssie Trainor

My In Laws are in Rockford, Illinois.  Hubs and I use to see them about once a month.  Those days are over too.  We can’t love with them or even near them.

But you see, I can’t live without them!  WE can’t live without them.

via Facebook

We are with them on Facebook!

We didn’t choose for our parents to join Facebook, and it was definitely a shock to the system to see them on there.  But as the elders in my life began to discover and open themselves up to social media, the way we used Facebook began to change as well.  It began with my mother in law, than my dad, than my mom, and now a bunch of aunts and uncles on Facebook as “friends”.  Now, it just seems natural and convenient.

In honor of Valentine’s Day and love, I wanted all of us to think about how we use Facebook and to think about it as another space to share our love with our family and friends.

For Hubs and I, we are pretty private people.  I are pretty selective about the pictures we share on Facebook.  That is… until our parents joined!  Now, we find ourselves taking and sharing photos that we normally wouldn’t share with our friends and certainly not with acquaintances.

Here are a couple examples of photos we’ve shared on Facebook just so our parents could see and share in our New England lives.

(1) Food & Cooking photos.  No one needs to see all the stuff we cook, but our I’ve found that parents enjoy knowing that their kids are eating well and that they’re cooking.

Rockport Lobsters

Homemade Pizza

(2) Gratuitous Vacation Photos… because let’s be honest, only parents could really be happy for us.  Everyone else might be envious.  Sorry to the Facebook friends, I’m really sharing with the P’s.

IMG_0107-1

Mui Ne Vietnam Beach

(3) Grand-kitty photos.  Even though we would share a bunch of these anyways, it’s our parents who enjoy knowing that their kids are enjoying the process of parenting.  Maybe that means real human grand babies are on the horizon.

Prof Kitty

Sleepy Kitty

Today’s post is brought for a link up party hosted by Meg from Moments by Meg.  Make sure to check out the other posts leading up for the big National Love Day (aka Valentine’s Day).

How do you share your photo love?  Are you sharing photos on Facebook (or your blog) with very specific special people in mind?

From → Blog

4 Comments
  1. This is awesome! Our relatives want to make sure we eat as well. I actually need to get better at sharing photos. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. I definitely share photos on FB specifically so a few friends and family can see what we’re up to in our lives, although to be honest the “family” is really only my husband’s side. My dad has a FB but rarely if ever checks it, so the only way my side of the family sees any pictures is via my blog or my Snapfish account! I do blog with my family and my husband’s family in mind though — I love to share with them what all we’re up to!

    • actually yeah.. a lot of my posting is for my hub’s family too. They’re much more present on FB than my own. Funny how that happens, huh?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. it’s beginning to look a lot like… | One Shiny Star

Comments are closed.

