Skip to content

Multifunctional Wallet / Clutch Search

January 30, 2012

Why is it so hard to find a reasonably priced wallet that is slim enough to be put in a already overstuffed work bag AND which can double as a clutch of bag that will hold my cell phone and keys on a lunch break.  In other words, I want this bag to fit within a larger bag.  I don’t like to take my large work bag out to lunch or happy hour, so I want this smaller bag to act as a clutch.

Last time, I mentioned all the different style wallets I own from the last decade.  Now, I am in search of a multifunctional wallet.  Is it so much to ask that one bag fulfill multiple needs and functions?  To serve as a wallet, the inside must have slots for ID and credit cards.  Their must also be space to put money.

Oh right, and it needs to be fashionable, yet work appropriate.  And did I mention, reasonably priced?  For this purpose, reasonably priced means that it’s under $100.

Let’s review.  The bag must include the following features:

  1. credit card slots
  2. money holder
  3. hold a smart phone & keys
  4. be fashionable
  5. work appropriate
  6. under $100

I want some bang for my buck.  Help a working woman out!

Here are some of the options I’ve discovered.  What do you think?  Do they make the grade?

(1) Matt & Nat clutch from Zappos for $64.99

(2) Kate Spade New York Wallet – Japanese Floral Embossed Stacy from Bloomingdale’s for $98

 

(3) La Diva Danielle Wallet from Endless for $75

(4) Women’s Turnlock Faux-Leader Wallet from Old Navy for $14.95

After an afternoon searching on Shopstyle, I realized that wallets are not the best options if you want to hold your cell phone and keys.  I realized that a flat clutch might be the way to go.

So much for thinking I wanted to replace my wallet.  Next up, some clutch options.

From → Fashion, Life

8 Comments
  1. What a coincidence! I’m looking for a new wallet, too. I agree that it’s hard to find one that is functional and pretty at the same time.

  2. Amber Thornton permalink

    Have you heard of Thirty One? http://www.thirtyonegifts.com/ I have the soft wallet (pg 42 item 3003). It is $22. I can get my iphone and a small set of keys (about 5 keys is what I carry) in the zipper part. Yes it does bulge, BUT it is a quilted fabric so it isn’t stretching the leather. It has a zippered coin pocket, clots for 11 cards (but I easily double stacked some of mine to fit everything) and 4 slots to stick money, receipts, ect. I like it a lot. It isn’t a Kate Spade, but I got it in a nice neutral brown and I am not embarrassed to carry it alone. I want to purchase the matching wrist strap since I don’t carry a purse.

    • Thanks for letting us know about this one. Those are cute fabrics. You bring up a great point about quilted fabrics versus leather. I hadn’t purposely considered the material the wallet would be made of. Thanks!

  3. Love that Kate Spade wallet! Michael Kors has a few different cell phone/wallet clutches for iPhones that seem quite functional. I was really close to buying one a few months ago. It might be worth checking out, if you haven’t seen them.

  4. I always have a hard time every 5 years or so when I decide I need a new wallet too. In your case, I’d suggest going shopping in person to Macy’s or something. Shopping online is convenient, but not as easy when you have specific items you’re trying to fit. I always seem to have better luck in person with my wallets and purses, so I can physically stick my keys, phone, etc in and make sure it’s the right size.

    Good luck!

  5. I have a Marc Jacobs wallet I bought in early 2008 that I have traveled the world with and it is still in great shape and I can fit tons it and I like if I am traveling it will hold my boarding pass without any crazy folding!
    It is similar to this but in a solid mauve color!
    http://www1.bloomingdales.com/shop/product/marc-by-marc-jacobs-eazy-zippy-wallet?ID=566942&CategoryID=23558#fn=spp%3D94%26ppp%3D96%26sp%3D1%26rid%3D52%26ppp%3D96%26sp%3D1%26rid%3D52

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Clutch Instead of a Wallet | Our Wired Lives

Comments are closed.

