Skip to content
Tags

,

[Update] Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 Newton Ring

January 26, 2012

Recall this newton ring/oil slick looking problem on the Galaxy Tab 10.1? 

I last reported that the newton ring could be removed by placing it in the refrigerator for a little time.  Yes, that worked for awhile.  The problem escalated when I traveled to Vietnam last month.  Vietnam is close to the equator.  It’s warm and humid year round.  The temperature caused the newton ring to stay the entire time.  I couldn’t get rid of it.  Getting the device cold, would only remove the ring for a few minutes.  The ring increased in size to nearly half of the screen.

While the newton ring doesn’t affect personal use that much, it really affects one’s ability to use the device with multiple viewers.  Depending on the angle, the ring may be all the 2nd viewer sees.

I contacted Samsung via their online chat.  After registering my Tab with them, it was pretty easy to work with them.  They did not acknowledge the problem.  However, the person on the chat didn’t ask additional questions, found my closest service center, and emailed me a UPS slip. 

I will back up my data, clear my passwords from the device, and ship my Tab to them.  I will let you know what happens next when I get the device back. 

I have been using the Tab since last summer. I still love it.  The newton ring is the only downside.  Hopefully, their newer tabs do not have this problem. 

Anyone else sent their Tab to be fixed?  How did it go?

From → Technology

Comments are closed.

