Skip to content

#WEverb11 Day 16–Persevere

December 16, 2011

#WEverb11 prompt for Day 16 comes from Jen.

#16 Persevere

Describe something that disappointed you in 2011 and how you persevered.

I taught a class this fall I had never taught before.  I tried a new approach, new assignments, and higher expectations.  It flopped big time!  I have been disappointed at my performance and lack of foresight.  However, I learned a lot.  I would do things differently next time.  And most importantly, I kept at it.  I stuck to my guns, finished the course with my head held high, and without students knowing that I felt like I had failed them.  I know they still learned from me.  I just wish I could have taught them more. 

It’s difficult to be new to something and feel responsible for so many people’s learning.  I’m not enjoying the failure too much, but I’m enjoying the fact that I know it ends.  And next semester, I get to start over again.  That’s the beauty of teaching college.  It ends and you get to start over again.  Sure, the evaluations follow you on Rate My Professor, but at least you get a new shot at trying to teach a new group of students something they didn’t already know.

People say you’re suppose to enjoy the journey and the failure.  But let’s be real… when has failure ever felt good.  Sure, it’s necessary and good for you.  But it doesn’t feel good. 

Now I just need to finish grading these last stacks of paper, and I’ll be a little bit closer to my fresh start.

From → Life

One Comment
  1. Mama Marcia permalink

    I agree. Failure never feels good. But, you sound like you’ve identified the silver lining of your dark cloud. The lesson learned is what propels you forward.

Comments are closed.

