Skip to content

#WEverb11 Day 15–Surprise

December 15, 2011

The #WEverb11 Day 15 prompt comes from Kimberly Michelle. 

#15 Surprise

What event of 2011 affected you in an unexpected way?

Adopting our kitties!  Do you need to see them again?  Okay fine.  You twisted my arm.

November  (41)-1

I knew that adopting them would change my life.  I just didn’t realize how much it would change my life.  They are the most adorable, affectionate, and wonderful addition to our family and life.  They have added to my life in ways I could not have imagined.  They bring more perspective about what is important.  I take more time away from work to be with them.  They make me understand how work as their parents can be so worthwhile when they end the night falling asleep in my lap while I blog.

I knew they would change my life.  I never knew I was missing something until they brought it in.  I love them, and I can’t imagine my world without them.  They are my 2011 surprise additions!

Can anyone relate?

From → Cat, Life

12 Comments
  1. Mama Marcia permalink

    Yes, I totally relate! Through the years the cats in my life have carved a special place in my heart. Each one has been a different personality, friends and fur-baby.
    My life would not be the same without them.

  2. Debbie permalink

    I completely relate! We adopted 2 cats in 2010 and another one this year in July. I love them all so much and I sometimes have trouble remembering life before they came home!

  3. I can relate! I’ve owned cats before (in college) and while I liked them, I also found them to be expensive, inconvenient, and often frustrating. In 2009 when we fell in love with Rusty (and in 2011 when Cleo joined us too), we were in a different place though. For one, we owned a home. (So cats were allowed, and without any silly rental fees or whatever..). For another, we had much more space, more money, and more sense of responsibility. Additionally, Rusty has been such a sweetheart that adopting Cleo was a much easier decision. They have definitely been a positive addition to our lives, much moreso than the cats I owned in college (now owned by my mother–and for her it is also a VERY positive experience). Cats are great. I hate that they often get a bad rap. I have to believe that people who don’t like them just haven’t met the right cat(s).

    • I’ll admit that I’ve always thought I was a dog person and really it was because I had never spent a lot of time with cats. I’m still a dog person, but now I’m a cat person too. Turns out…. I’m a pet person!

  4. I feel the same way about our little guy – such a surprise of joy and perspective!

  5. We also adopted a cat after losing ours last Christmas. They bring a special spirit in your house. We also have two dogs but despite the craziness (and the surprise accidents) I would not have it any other way. They helped make this a home

  6. Aaah they really have changed your life. So sweet. Cameron said there were too many pics of your cats on your Christmas card and not enough of you two. Now we see why. 🙂

    • haha! We LOVE them! We couldn’t narrow down the photos we wanted to share. They made our 2011 much more than any photo of the two of us really did 🙂

Comments are closed.

