Skip to content

October Photo Challenge Day 15: Silhouette

October 15, 2011

IMG_1993-1

This photo was taken on a beach on Seattle’s Olympic Peninsula using a point and shoot.  I set it on the log and let the timer take this photo of Hubs and I.  The sun was setting really quickly, so the photo has always been very dark and unusable.  I put it into Lightroom and increased the “Blacks” in the photo to get our silhouettes to stand out.  I think the photo looks a lot more purposeful now.  To give you a comparison, here’s the original image.

Seattle-1

Which photo do you prefer?

From → Photography

11 Comments
  1. I like the one you fixed. The original one still shows your faces, but the touched up one looks like it could be a photo of you guys watching the sunset. I may need to check out this lightroom thing. 🙂

  2. I really like what you did with lightroom! I might have to look into that.

  3. you made some serious light room magic, and I love it! reason #1,380,118 why I want light room for Christmas!

  4. I love the first one… it’s amazing what a bit of ‘editing’ can do to photos! I don’t use lightroom–but use aperture and sometimes Photoshop (but I’m working on overcoming my fear of photoshop!)

    I love how you are switching it up… 🙂

    • Thanks! I’m scared of photoshop. So you should definitely be commended for using it and learning how to use it.

      • so far the only thing I do in photoshop is my header for my blog… and usually I will only open PS if I can’t find a friend that will help me create the header! I’m such a chicken!

  5. I had a trial version of lightroom and I enjoyed it so I’m planning on looking into purchasing it sometime soon. For now I’ve been playing around with Aperture.
    I also prefer the edited photo. Maybe I will try to edit my photo since it turned out somewhat weird.

  6. I love the fixed one because the original was so dark anyway–and there was no lightening it up anyway–and what a great photo! 🙂

  7. I love the one you fixed. Lightroom is a great tool to have. We bought the full version two months ago, and I don’t know how I lived without it!

  8. It’s gorgeous – love how it turned out!

  9. Love the edit! It seems much more intentional and emotional.

Comments are closed.

