Skip to content

October Challenge: 30 Day Photography

September 4, 2011

 

 

I first discovered this challenge on Pinterest though Ali from His Birdie’s Nest

Cameras and photography is an old form of media that has continued to evolve with the times.  It’s pretty remarkable when you think about what how photography has grown to be a profession embraced by the masses as a hobby.  Digital photography, digital storage of photos, cell phone cameras, iPad cameras have all made photography a normal part of our day-to-day lives. 

Merely having the ability to take a photo does not necessarily make you an artist.  I feel that photography as art is much more about perspective.  My favorite photographers see photos in their surroundings.  To me, they are not merely taking photos, they are making photos.  Their perspective is often different and lets me see the world a bit differently.

Secondly, photographers have skills beyond snapping a photo!  They know how to do sun flares, exposure, bokeh!  I’m scared to try these and show you the result, but I think it will really force me to learn new techniques.

My personal goal for this challenge is to improve my photography by helping me to focus on making photos in my surroundings and to learn new techniques. 

Ali and I will begin the challenge on October 1st and continue it for 30 days.  Please let me know if you will also be joining.  I would love to see how others make photos and link all of us together.

From → Photography

82 Comments
  1. I’m so excited to do this with you 🙂 I’ll post about it on my blog, or link to your post, on Tuesday.

  2. I’m so glad I saw you guys are doing this! I posted this on Pinterest last week and really wanted to do it but didn’t want to do it without others to motivate me. Like you, I’m nervous about bokeh and sun flare. I certainly don’t think I have an eye like some photographers but this will definitely help work on my imagination and skills.

  3. This sounds really fun! I am going to tentatively join, we move October 1st but I think I should be able to swing it!

  4. I saw your tweet and have booked this one in my diary, really looking forward to it! We got a new camera a few months ago so it’ll be a great chance for me to get more familiar with it, fantastic timing!!

  5. I will be joining in too! I can’t wait to take part!

  6. I’m super excited to be doing this with all of you!

  7. I think I’m going to do it too! This looks like fun and I always want to use my camera more.

  8. 🙂 What an awesome idea! I’m currently revamping my website, but I’m hoping to join in the fun!

  9. I will join!!!

  10. I’m going to do it with you!

  11. Count me in!

  12. Sarah permalink

    I cannot wait to do this with you! Although will have to consult the google machine for help on day 20, I don’t even know what bokeh is?

  13. I think I’ve talked myself into it. My poor blog must think I hate her, as seldom as I post these days…

  14. I am soooo in! Excited! 🙂

  15. Count me in too! Just send me a reminder or I’ll probably forget…haha. Can’t wait!

  16. I think I’m going to do this as well. I haven’t been using my camera as much as I’ve wanted to.

  17. i’m going to join in, too!

  18. I’ll be joining! 🙂

  19. This is such a cool idea! I think I’d like to join this too. 🙂

  20. Hi Nellie!
    I am going to do this challenge as well – can’t wait!

    Kristin

  21. I’ll be participating too- looking forward to it!

  22. rebekahburder permalink

    Found out via That Wife. Would love to join as well.

  23. I’m going to try and join as well! Some of the more technical ones may not be great, but I’ll try 🙂

  24. Sent from Jenna! I’m excited to be participating!

  25. Super excited to start!

  26. Yay! I am excited to do this!

  27. Definitely count me in!

  28. I am in for this! It’s high time I actually started using my camera(s…)!

  29. I’m joining!

  30. I’m doing the challenge! So excited! http://www.kelocity.com

  31. I’m in!

  32. Woo hoo! My camera blows and I don’t know the first thing about this “bokeh” you speak of, but would love to do this just for the fun of it!! Sign me up!! : )

  33. I am so excited to give this a try, it should be fun!

  34. Going to join through the post on That Wife. I’m looking forward to it!

  35. Please count me in! I signed up cause I do everything Jenna tells me to (kidding!!). I’m SO looking forward to this.

  36. Can’t wait to get started. Thanks for letting me be a part of this 🙂

  37. This looks like a really interesting list – I’m in!

  38. Shannon Collins permalink

    Hi there! I had several readers request to be added to the participant list:

    Danielle (daniellealmond@gmail.com): http://www.dalmondphotography.com
    Victoria (victoria.annand@gmail.com): http://fivefeetofspice.blogspot.com/
    and
    Zoée (arfistic@gmail.com): http://www.arfism.com

    • Thanks Shannon! I’ve added all of them to the list. Check the tab across the top of the page.

  39. My photography could use some serious inspiration, so I’m in!!!! Can’t wait to learn some things and see what everyone else comes up with!

  40. Count me in! This is certainly one way to make me get the camera out and use it more often!

  41. I’d love to join in (clicking through from Jenna @That Wife) I wanted to start taking more pictures on a daily basis and this will be the daily creative break I need! Can’t wait!

  42. I am so excited about this. Count me in!

  43. I am going to be taking part in this challenge on my blog.

  44. I am going to be taking part in this challenge on my blog Bikini Birthday

  45. I’m participating in the challenge and would love it if you added me to the list of participants! 🙂

  46. I’ll totally be participating!

  47. I *just* got my first DSLR camera. I’m brand new to photography but am excited to learn, and this challenge seems like a great way to jump in! Is it too late to join?

  48. I’m doing it tooo! Yay!

  49. I hope I make it through all 30 days LOL! Going to give it a whirl!

  50. Wow, I sooo need this push to get me behind the camera lens on a regular basis. I am so ready for this…I think….as long as my erratic schedule doesn’t get in the way.

  51. Wow, I sooo need a push to get me behind the camera lens on a regular basis. I am so looking forward to doing this… I think….as long as my erratic schedule doesn’t get in the way. The prompts look manageable.

  52. Count me in 🙂

  53. Sara Rae permalink

    I just found out about this (last minute, of course!), and I definitely want to throw my hat in the ring! I’m no professional, but this just sounds fun!

  54. I’m in! dSLR, P&S, and iPhone photos will be happening!

  55. I’m in! Can’t wait to start today!

  56. Hey! Thank you so much for this challenge and it seems like something I really need at the moment 🙂 I’ve been looking for a way to stay creative in October as it’s gonna be extra busy for me, and here we are 🙂 I’ve already published first entry: http://worqshop.wordpress.com/2011/10/01/30-pazdziernikowych-zdjec-30-day-photography-challenge/

  57. Amanda permalink

    Is it too late to join the challenge? I looked for a challenge to join last month but didn’t stumble upon this one until today. It looks like fun!

  58. Sher Mattison permalink

    ooo! just what I’ve been looking for! I guess I’ll just jump right in! I’m a super newbie photographer (or wannabe) and I’m looking for ways to motivate myself. thanks! I love your ideas!

    • Sher, can you send me your blog site or the medium that you’ll be sharing your photos? Thanks!

  59. robgrimesphotography permalink

    Just found this on Pinterest, and what a great idea, so I’m going to be completing this before i head of to Afghan!! Thank you!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 30 Day Photography Challenge - That Wife
  2. October Photography challenge… get ready! | Jenallyson - The Project Girl - Fun Easy Craft Projects including Home Improvement and Decorating - For Women and Moms
  3. October Photography Challenge: Participants « Our Wired Lives
  4. {October Challenge} 30 Day Photography Challenge | youwannatalkjive
  5. Keeping Secrets and the 30 Day Photo Challenge | Kate Sullivan Blogs
  6. 30 Days Photography Challenge « Wrapped in Happiness
  7. 30 Day Photography Challenge « Sarah on the Road
  8. Orange You Sweet » October Photo Challenge » Orange You Sweet
  9. 30-Day Photography Challenge | Day Off Images
  10. 30 Day Photography Challenge | Melissa Crane :: Food & Travel Photography
  11. 30 pazdziernikowych zdjec {30 day photography challenge} |
  12. How To Shoot: 30 Day Photo Challenge — The How To Mommy
  13. october photography challenge, day 1: self-portrait « i get through life, one shoe at a time
  14. October 2011 Photography Challenge Day Two | Kate Sullivan Blogs
  15. October Photo Challenge: Days 1-3 « Journey to a Marathon
  16. October Photography Challenge – Day 1 » Courtney Ann Photography

Comments are closed.

