Skip to content

{New Product} Blog Lovin

August 17, 2011

I’m starting to see fellow bloggers use a new site and service called Blog Lovin.  From my initial research, it seems to differ from Google Reader because it includes a listing of blog posts with a photo and the first paragraph.  This is very useful for me because some of the blogs I follow (e.g., the Satorialist) are really all about a single posted photo anyways.  It makes marking a post “read” very easy.  And most importantly, there is an option for it to send you a daily or weekly summary email with all the posts listed.  Score!

Here’s a video describing what they do.

And here’s a link to find this blog.
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I’ll give it a couple weeks test run and report back for those who aren’t ready to move away from their Google Reader just yet.

Let me know if your blog is on Blog Lovin in the comments.

From → Blog, Technology

5 Comments
  1. I keep seeing this too & I’ve been unsure about it. Since Google Reader invented the “next” button, the way I’ve read my fave blogs has completely changed! It’s made commenting so much easier since it takes you straight to the blog of each post & I absolutely love that feature. I’ll be interested to see exactly how you feel about it though.

  2. I am on bloglovin’ – I think it is a good system though it is a compliment and not a replacement to things like Google Reader, etc. 🙂

  3. Like Mandy, I’m a devoted Google Reader user because of the next button!! It’s my favorite invention ever. 🙂

  4. I’ll be honest: I’ve never heard of Blog Lovin’ until I read about it here. And because my time at the computer is so limited, I will hang onto Google Reader…but I am interested to see what you think of it, so please post a more in-depth review in the near future!

  5. I have used Bloglovin’ for a few months and I mostly like it! Some people may not enjoy this aspect of it, but I like to click through to the actual blog to view a post with the blog’s design and format. After using Google Reader for so long, I felt like I forgot what some of my favorite blogs looked like, and for me, the visual aspect of a blog is a huge part of the blog-reading experience (and a lot of bloggers put a huge amount of time and effort into it!). Bloglovin’ is occasionally glitchy though (as is Google Reader, in my experience), with “read” posts coming back as “unread,” and it is sometimes slow to redirect from the Bloglovin’ site to the blog’s host, but I like it overall. : )

Comments are closed.

