Skip to content
Tags

{Review} Deep Ellum

July 26, 2011

Pictures5

On our bike ride of Boston, we purposely went all the way down to Allston to have a late lunch at Deep Ellum.  Hubs chose Deep Ellum because it has an awesome beer garden, good food, and a great selection of craft and Belgium beers.

From top left clockwise, we had the following:

  • Truffled Gorgonzola Fries: Rich and tasty.  It has a great texture.  The crispy fries go very well with the gorgonzola.  About half way through the dish, I started to feel that there was too much gorgonzola.  I started wiping it off. I recommend and would order again.
  • Beer: Brouwerij Rodenbach Grand Cru: This is one of my favorite Belgium beers.  It’s a Flemish sour.  Deep Ellum had it on tap.  It had some head on it, but I thought it tasted pretty flat.  I wasn’t very happy with it.  But at $9 and a long bike ride to get home, I drank it.
  • Hot Damn Wings: Fried very nicely.  Big and meaty.  It’s spicy, but not puff your lips spicy.  I would order again.

We had a nice time here.  The food is good and reasonably priced.  The wait staff is friendly and service is good.  I didn’t love my beer, but it’s probably one that not many people order.  I would return again without a doubt.

Deep Ellum 477 Cambridge Street, Allston, MA 02134

From → Food & Drinks

3 Comments
  1. thanks for the link! jacki originally posted about deep ellum and i hadn’t tried it at the time, and just got a chance to check it out last weekend and loved it. the bloody mary was one of the best ive had in the city. i would definitely go back as well!

  2. Mm those fries sound so good!

  3. truffled gorgonzola fries sound amazing!

Leave a Reply

