Skip to content

My Little Piece of History

June 14, 2011

IMG_5178

November 4th, 2008

I will never forget this day for as long as I live.  U.S. citizens voted for Barack Obama to be president.

We finally hung President Obama in our den (aka office).  He hangs proudly over me as I work and try to achieve greatness.

Inside the frame is section A of the Chicago Tribune from the morning after President Obama won the election.  I wanted this newspaper so bad that I ran around town to every store I could think of selling newspapers.  Apparently, I wasn’t the only one with this plan.  Everyone was sold out.  After a full day searching, I come home to my apartment building.  On the floor in the lobby is a rolled up newspaper.  It’s TODAY’s newspaper.  I start scheming to myself about when it would be appropriate to take it.  You see, there was a stack of newspapers in the lobby.  Who ever was receiving them hadn’t been taking them into their apartment for awhile.

I tell Hubs (then only a bf) about the newspaper downstairs.  We go through every possible scenario and conclude that the owner clearly didn’t want their newspaper.  So I run downstairs, snatch the paper, and run back up.  I stole it!  Bad huh?

So as if it wasn’t bad enough that I had guilt over this newspaper and all.  I go out the following Sunday to get the big Tribune special edition.  Again, I have a terrible time finding a copy.  I finally find one in a small, crumby liquor store.  I walk home in excitement.

But what? Where’s the special section?  It was missing.  Someone had stolen the special section from my newspaper.  Karma sucks arse!

So after 2 years in the oval office, I finally found the time to honor President Obama with space on my wall.

Art + Story = Awesome!

From → Life

One Comment
  1. for what it’s worth, i would have done the same thing (taking the paper from the lobby). oh man i wonder what karmic retribution i’m going to get from just admitting that.

Leave a Reply

