Skip to content

B’s New England Visit: Fenway Park

June 3, 2011

Cousin B came to visit us 2 weeks ago.  Her visit marked the close of my semester and first year as a full time academic.  A celebration was definitely in order.  I want to share some of my favorite shots from her visit.  We’ll start with Fenway Park.

At the start of B’s visit, I promised to take photos fearlessly.  I would not be ashamed of having a camera out and snapping photos of anything I deemed photo worthy.  I would not care if people stared at me.  I would marvel at my shots afterwards instead.

The Chicago Cubs played the Boston Red Sox.  I might get harassed for saying this, but I don’t really care for either teams.  Heck, I’m not much of a baseball fan in general.  Whatevs, it’s not everyone’s cup of tea.  When B originally booked her trip, the game was sold out.  That wasn’t surprising at the time.  The Cubs and Red Sox haven’t played each other since 1912.  A couple days before her arrival, I happen to check the ticket page.  Strangely, a bunch of tickets were available.

We took our chances and headed down to Fenway.  Low and behold, they had all kinds of tickets available.  We got a couple $20 tickets and headed inside.  I’m not sure why tickets were still available, but they were.  Lesson to those wanting to head down to Fenway.  Do it.  Tickets just might be available day of.

IMG_5437

Don’t worry.  This photo is before the start of the game.  People aren’t in their seats yet.

IMG_5444

Not such a bad view for $20, huh?  Now look at the stands.  Much fuller isn’t it?

IMG_5440

We met the Traveling Cubby Gnome.

Barbara New England Trip 2011

Hubs and Cousin B at Fenway post Cubs losing to the Red Sox.

I really enjoyed going to Fenway and checking out the historic game.  Even for a non-baseball fan, I highly recommend checking it out.  I do think Wrigley field is a bit cooler and old school ballpark looking.  Fenway wins in the cleanliness and nicer fans in the ballpark department though.

Next, we’re heading to Bobby Flay’s Burger Palace.

From → Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

