Skip to content
Tags

{OOTD} Ruffle It

March 11, 2011

IMG_4363

  • Ruffle Ann Taylor Petite Outlet Tank Top
  • Black Cardigan (super old)
  • Black Banana Republic Outlet Skinny Belt
  • Banana Republic Trouser Denim Petite

I wore this outfit as a more casual Friday outfit.  As a rule, I don’t wear denim on days I teach unless it’s a discussion section or student work day.  When I have to lecture or present, my preference is to look more professional.  It gives me an added confidence boost to look more corporate.

IMG_4382

I recently bought the Ann Taylor ruffle top when I went south to Austin.  This is not the first ruffle top I’ve bought.  However, it is the first “expensive” one I bought.

Well Dressed3

This is the other ruffle top I own (try to ignore the off-center skinny belt.  Oops) .  I bought it at a cheap store similar to Forever 21.  It has worked okay for me for many years.  I had no idea what I was missing out on.  Look at the Ann Taylor top.  It has so much more movement and lux in it.  I feel like it really adds to the outfit.  Much more than this dinky wink of a top in the 2nd photo.

Lesson: It pays to pay for staple items that really add dimension to an outfit.

IMG_4378

To polish off this outfit, I added a pair of gray tear drop earrings that I bought on super clearance ages ago at Target.  One of the benefits of always buying things in the same shades of black, gray, and purple is that you have more things that match with one another.

How am I doing on this quest to well-dressed?  I promise I’m working real hard at it!

From → Fashion

One Comment
  1. Well, I might be biased, but I love the ruffle shirt! As a girl who isn’t “blessed with chest,” I do appreciate tops like that which are able to give some more volume on top! 😉

Leave a Reply

