Skip to content

A Quest to Well-Dressed Defined

February 28, 2011

When I started this blog in November, I envisioned posts about fashion.  Thus, the “Well-Dressed” seems appropriate for the title.  It’s also true that over the last 6 years, I have often worked at being “put together” at work and school.  The problem is that I am an academic.  Being well-dressed for an academic is different from being fashionable.

I’ve been feeling a lot of pressure having the well-dressed in my title because I just am not “well-dressed”.  I am on a quest to be “well-dressed”.  People who know me from my younger years know how much I have struggled to just match!  For example, there are pictures that exist of me wearing my “lime” outfit.  This outfit included lime green pants and a matching striped sweater!  Then I decided to never buy pants of any color other than denim.  That’s when my wardrobe got boring.

Well Dressed2

After posting OOTD pictures for the last month or so, I’ve decided it’s time to withdraw my “Well-Dressed” label.  Upon Hub’s recommendation, I now proclaim myself to be

Wired, Witty, & Well Dressed

So here’s the deal.  I’m just a woman who gets dressed everyday.  I’m on a quest to have a wardrobe that allows me to feel well-dressed.  So while I’m not quite ready to drop the well-dressed from my blog title, I want to insist that the well-dressed portion of this blog is going to be more about the journey I have always been on to be well-dressed.  I am no expert, and I have no great advice to give.  I, however, will share my trials and triumphs with you all.

I am going to try this new format for a little while.  If the pressure to think about my dress becomes too great, I will drop the well-dressed and become “Wired and Witty”.

I hope y’all understand and will continue to read despite my lack of well-dressed-ness.

From → Fashion

7 Comments
  1. Well-dressed means different things to different people in different industries. I think you’re well-dressed, especially for academia where I see so many professors who show up to work in the same jeans-and-sweater combos day after day.

    • Thanks. I guess I want to be more than a well-dressed academic and start pursuing well-dressed, hip lady. 😉

  2. I think you’re well dressed! You even accessorize, which is a lot more than what I can say for myself. I fall into your category of “dressed” – boo!! Following along on your hip lady adventures so I can update my closet also.

  3. You always look great. But, if you’re feeling too much pressure, you can always be Wired, Witty and Winsome.

  4. I think you’re very well dressed! I’ve been trying to work on my wardrobe a bit too, lately. I think I’ve gotten a bit boring – and my job requires pretty comfy/casual clothing, but I still want to step it up and put some more effort into my outfits!

  5. You certainly dress better than a lot of people I see on a daily basis – at work & at school! Shoot, I think I dress well and I’m still afraid to post pics of my boring outfits 😛

  6. I think you are well dressed for sure! Considering you are in academia…I would definitely say you are a snappy dresser for the industry you’re in! As long as you don’t roll in to the classroom wearing Birkenstocks with socks on….omg…

Leave a Reply

