Skip to content

Guatemala Tuskegee Experiment

February 16, 2011

I know it’s suppose to be Witty Wired Wednesday, but I can’t help but share this video with everyone.  I taught ethics to my psychology students this week.  I wanted to give them a video update of the Tuskegee Syphilis studies.  I search YouTube for the videos and was reminded of this study.  I don’t know why I had forgotten about it.

Watch it please.

Be reminded that we have history and that it is important for us to know it in order to prevent it from being repeated.  President Obama apologized for the atrocity that our country brought to Guatemala.

My students often think that ethical violations are a thing of the past and that we’re just more civil people today than we were back then.  They are wrong.  We are human.  We make ethical decisions daily and sometimes we make mistakes.  And then there are those who make them on purpose.

We must remember.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. i’m guilty of the following as well, but i agree that our collective failure of memory and/or willingness to learn from the past leads to so many of the same and continued problems, over and over and over again.

    ok well now i’m sad. thanks a lot (kidding).

Leave a Reply

