Skip to content

High School Year Books

February 11, 2011

source

Did you keep yours?

Let me be a little more specific.  Are they in your home?  It doesn’t count if you have them stashed in your parent’s house.  Did they mean enough to you to bring into your own home?

Last fall, my parents moved to a new house.  My mom complained about how much stuff I have left in their house from over the years.  I haven’t lived at my parent’s house for over 10 years.  Hubs helped me go through all my “memories”.  When I got to the year books, I put them in the stack that would eventually be flown home with us.  He seriously looked at me like I was cray cray.

Hubs: You don’t care about those do you?

Me: But they’re my yearbooks hon.

Hubs: So what?  They’re just heavy books.

I couldn’t part with them.  I also didn’t fly them home with us.  Instead, they sit in a box in my parent’s garage at their new house.  No one is happy with this situation.  I’ve thought about this over and over again.  Can I toss these in the recycling bin?  Something feels so wrong about that.  But they’re so big and heavy!  I do have memory hoarding tendencies, so I’m confused about what is considered “normal”.

What to do?  What to do?  I dread the thought of packing these books in my suitcase and bringing them back to Boston from San Diego, then moving them from apartment to apartment.  But what about sharing these things with our future kids?  Don’t I already have tons of photos for that?

Tell me what you did with yours so I can figure out what to do with mine.

From → Life

15 Comments
  1. Sarah G permalink

    I feel you on this one! I have a giant tupperware container full of old highschool/middle school things…though I am not quite sure where my old yearbooks are..hmmmm? My guess is that they are somewhere amidst my parents storage shed possibly collecting mold and dust.

  2. Ha, I’m no help – mine are also languishing in the dust at my parent’s house 😀 But you can’t throw them away! I love looking at my parents yearbooks – they met in high school though, so I guess it’s particularly fun 🙂

  3. Followed you over from weddingbee! To your topic, I recently moved all my yearbooks from my parent’s house to mine. I too have hoarding tendencies, but yearbooks capture more than just your picture at that certain age. The crazy pictures from prom, pep rallys, etc. I was semi-involved in school so I like to look through the books and reminisce about all the stuff. Maybe they can find a home on a bookshelf in the office??

  4. We found my dad’s yearbooks a couple years ago, and they were so much fun to go through! Keep them!

  5. They’re a “must keep”! I will admit, though, I only have my senior yearbook in Chicago. The other years are stashed at my parents house still in my childhood bedroom. I’ve got my yearbook (& the husbands) hidden in the mix of our bookshelves so I don’t feel like they’re taking up excess storage space.

  6. I have not one, but TWO SETS of yearbooks from the SAME SCHOOL (because Mr. N and I went to the same one). And what did I do with them? They’re stacked on a bookshelf, ordered by year. (1998, 1998, 1999, 1999, etc). I could probably get rid of a set, or both (as we never ever look at them), but I still have them!

  7. Keep them. As a parent who begged her kids to take their stuff with them, I can relate from both sides. I have my yearbooks and the kids have theirs. Don’t toss out all of your history. Future children will need to see your old hairdos and clothes and make fun!

  8. I have mine at our house! I think Corey got rid of his (we went to high school together, so no need to have two) but we both agreed that we wanted to keep them!

  9. you could scan the important pages! then you’d have them digitally at least.

    my yearbooks are still at my parents house. I haven’t looked at them in ages but it’d be nice to go back and read all the notes left from friends long ago 🙂

  10. I actually thought about this last weekend, my husband and I area moving from California to Sweden and obviously need to get rid of stuff but I want to bring my yearbooks with me. I feel like it is my past and maybe one day my kids can look at what their mom did in California.

  11. I have mine (and B thinks I’m crazy much like your husband), but I couldn’t throw them out. Not only are there the pictures but all the crazy notes (and I’m still friends with a few people from high school so it’s fun to re-read those!). However, my mom did make me get them out of her house. But I didn’t have to fly with them, so it was slightly easier to transport them!

  12. Mine at at my mom’s house, Josh’s are with us (I think?). One day I’ll bring mine here. I LOVE reading through them so they’re definitely never seeing the inside of a trash can. Keep them!

  13. My parents moved as well, told me to get my stuff out! I saved my yearbooks and then moved them from my parents’ in NJ to my new home in LA in a very full car where space was extremely limited. I only graduated high school in 2005 though, so maybe the memories are still fresh and hard to part with? Not sure if I’ll get rid of them, I LOVE to look through my parents’ old yearbooks!

  14. Hmmm…I have mine – on the bottom shelf of a bookcase. I think my husband got rid of his. Then again, I went to a fairly small high school where I knew everyone in my graduating class and then some. I guess for me it’s really about if that’s a part of you that you want to pass on to future generations, or a part of you that you want to leave behind. My husband’s high school years were miserable, so he left them behind. Mine weren’t so bad, so I keep them around.

  15. i have no idea where mine are. this is what i think, and be forewarned that it is completely unhelpful: if you get rid of them, most likely you will not miss them. if you keep them, you’ll wonder why you have them until about 20 years from now, when it will be really fun and wonderful to look at them.

Leave a Reply

