Skip to content

Crawling Back from the Darkness

February 9, 2011

via FreeFoto

I’ve been going through a thing… a funk… a rough patch.  I’m finally coming out of it.  I usually need a lot of validation and support to get through my funks.  Well, I’m crawling back.  I cannot be brought down so easily.

Here’s what happened.  I heart research…. My master’s level student sent me an article to read for her thesis.  It rejuvenates my soul so much so that I had to share.

“There is a sense that in order to be heard, marginalized groups must have a ‘seat at the table.’ On the surface this sounds good. In reality sitting at the table is useless if the only way you are heard is to ‘talk a talk that is in itself silence,’ and any other speech is seen as counterproductive” (Hinton, 2010).

This quote reminded me of another reading that I’ve hung onto for many years because it spoke to be in these dark times.

LETTER TO A YOUNG ACTIVIST DURING TROUBLED TIMES
By Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Ph.D.

Click on the title for the entire reading.  It’s pretty long.  I’ve excerpt my favorite lines for you.

My dear friends: Do not lose heart. We were made for these times.

…We were made for these times. Yes. For years, we have been learning, practicing, been in training for and just waiting to meet on this exact plain of engagement. I cannot tell you often enough that we are definitely the leaders we have been waiting for, and that we have been raised since childhood for this time precisely.

Believe the evidence of any one of your past testings and trials. Here it is: Are you still standing? The answer is, Yes! (And no adverbs like “barely” are allowed here). If you are still standing, ragged flags or no, you are able. Thus, you have passed the bar. And even raised it. You are seaworthy.

From → Life

5 Comments
  1. Ah, I’m so sorry you are (were!) having a tough time – I hope the ‘crawling’ turns to ‘striding’! Thank you for sharing those quotes, I quite like the reading you mentioned – very inspiring!

  2. Just saying, welcome back. I was in a funk last year this time, and it feels so good to be out of it!! OR should I say that I am aware of it and it’s a daily adventure- but totally worth it.

    • Aw yes… this is a good reminder that I will likely hang onto this. It’s ok though. It’s part of our evolution, right?

  3. “The darkest hour is always right before the dawn.” Glad you’re back. You are SO seaworthy!

Leave a Reply

