Skip to content

Reverb10 Challenge: Achieve

January 13, 2011

 
Reverb10’s December 28th prompt author Tara Sophia Mohr of The Women’s Seder Sourcebook: Rituals & Readings for Use at the Passover Seder asked,

Achieve. What’s the thing you most want to achieve next year? How do you imagine you’ll feel when you get it? Free? Happy? Complete? Blissful? Write that feeling down. Then, brainstorm 10 things you can do, or 10 new thoughts you can think, in order to experience that feeling today.

In 2011, I want to get my research started at work.  I first mentioned this goal in answering the prompt on Action.  When I get it going, I will feel happy and as if I have begun.  This is about to get pretty academic nerdy, but here goes nothing.  Ten things I can do to make this happen are the following:

(1) Schedule time specifically to work on research

(2) Make sure that I protect my research work time so that students to not get in the way.

(3) Write IRBs for each project I want to get started by the end of February.

(4) Stay on top of my Research Assistants to make sure they are completing their work.

(5) Stop being scared of driving in snow and get my butt to the office more.

(6) Stay focused and stop checking email so often.

(7) Eat lunch so I don’t have an energy dump.

(8) Stop committing to everything that comes my way.

(9) Say “no” and be comfortable with that.

(10) Set my list of priorities, and don’t let other people change them on my behalf.

Interestingly, a lot of my list has to do with being okay with prioritizing myself and my work.  Interesting how it comes back to me and not necessarily the steps that will accomplish the task.  On some level, it seems that I understand that it is ME who is getting in the way of my progress.  Therefore, there will definitely be ways for me to rein in my time and achieve my goals.  I better print this out and post it in front of my computer.

Are you getting in the way of your own accomplishments?

From → Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

