Skip to content

Reverb10 Challenge: Ordinary Joy

January 12, 2011

December 27 Prompt


Reverb10 Challenge’s December 27th prompt author  Brené Brown from The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are asked,

Ordinary joy. Our most profound joy is often experienced during ordinary moments. What was one of your most joyful ordinary moments this year?

My most joyful ordinary moment this year came when Hubs and I sat on our new apartment floor in Boston.  No furniture had arrived yet.  We had no food.  We had a couple sandwiches delivered to our new place.  We sat on the floor with a make-shift table that held Hub’s laptop and we watched old episodes of 30 Rock.  I looked over at Hubs and realized that I adored the fact that he could “bum” it with me without complaint.  And you know what?  We really enjoyed ourselves that night.  We didn’t need much to make us happy.  Us in a nutshell.  I love it.

What is something “ordinary” that brings you joy?

From → Life

One Comment
  1. My ordinary joy is seeing the birds on my birdfeeder in the morning. There is always a good variety of feathered friends. Sometimes a new and unknown bird will visit the feeder, and it’s a challenge to identify the visitor. My husband and I get out our bird book or visit the Cornell University website to help us identify the new species.
    Simple, ordinary, joyous.

Leave a Reply

