Skip to content

Reverb10 Challenge: Everything’s OK

January 7, 2011

The Reverb10 Challenge prompt author for December 24th was  Kate Inglis of The Dead Crew

Everything’s OK. What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead?

Hubs and I have are a dual-academic career couple.  There are many advantages that helped our relationship form because of this, but there are also some serious disadvantages as well.  One of the major disadvantage concerns the job search.  If both individuals want to be university professors as Hubs and I do, the challenge is finding 2 universities who are looking to hire in the same year and who will hire you.  Did I mention Hubs and I are in the same field?  Yeah, it’s a rough thing.

The day I got a job offer was the day I knew everything was going to be okay.  It meant that I would have a job, a career, a future, and so much more.  But that also meant that I would definitely be located in Massachusetts and Hubs would have to agree to move with me sans job or find a job in Massachusetts.

Then there was the day that Hubs got a job in the same area and we finally knew that we would both be employed and living in the same home.

Hubs and I had gotten to a place where we realized that it was a distinct possibility that we might have to spend the first (or couple) years of our marriage living in different cities.  It made me nervous, anxious, and seriously sad to think about this possibility.

When Hubs got the job, we realized everything would be ok.  We would live our first year together, and we could make a dual academic career work.

After that challenge, everything else seemed easy to overcome.

From → Life

2 Comments
  1. This is definitely an AWESOME way to learn that everything will be okay! Congratulations to both of you on your jobs and your marriage! Great post, Nellie!

  2. I agree with the disadvantages. We both went through residency and fellowship, but our situation was more difficult than most med students. My husband is ahead of me a few years so we couldn’t do couples match. We were separated for one year and since then we have been together. I’ll be done with fellowship in two years and we’re going to do another round of finding jobs. Congratulations to the both of you finding jobs in Mass!

Leave a Reply

