Skip to content

Reverb 10 Challenge: Try

January 2, 2011


The Reverb10 Challenge December 18th prompt author Kaileen Elise of kaileenelise.com asks:

Try. What do you want to try next year? Is there something you wanted to try in 2010? What happened when you did / didn’t go for it?

I want to make an honest attempt to do LESS multi-tasking.  I want to schedule time to write and do one task at a time.  This is especially true when I’m working on my computer.  I want to try to avoid checking my twitter or email inbox for longer stretches of time.

It’s scary when I stop to think about how much time I’m spending on any individual task.  I find myself becoming more and more okay with the increasing number of windows I have open on my computer screen.  Is it really necessary for me to keep increasing my monitor size so I can have even more windows open.  Scary stuff! Check yourself readers.  How many tabs are open in your internet browser?  How many program windows do you have open?

IMG_2974

I have actually begun to work on this goal.  I recently received a Sony Reader for my birthday/Christmas gift.  A review on it coming soon.  When discussing this decision with others, many people encouraged me to get an Ipad instead.  The Ipad is indeed super awesome with it’s bright color, sexy touchiness, and awesome internet capacity, but I had to stop and be real with myself.  Are these features that I actually want?  Do I need these features?  When I was real with myself, I realized that my priority was the ability to go paperless with my work articles.  I wanted the device to be for reading and note-taking.  I wanted a long battery life.  I realized that the internet feature would cause me to focus less and multi-task more.  The color, sexy touch, and internet also meant less battery life.

Let me tell you, as a self-proclaimed tech nerd, it was very difficult to turn down the Ipad.  In 2011, I hope to do more of this focusing in my life.

Do you have any ideas to focus more and multi-task less?

From → Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

