Skip to content

Reverb 10 Challenge: Appreciate

December 18, 2010

Reverb10 Prompt author for December 14th is Victoria Klein from 27 Things to Know About Yoga

Appreciate. What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it?

Maybe this is not unique to this past year, but it is certainly something I have learned in the last couple of years.  I really appreciate the slow of a city.  While traveling, I have come to appreciate and love getting to know the vibe of a city through leisurely brunches and coffee hours.  I have come to appreciate the common life that people live in towns and cities that I visit.  No longer do I long to visit the museums, do the tours, and see every last inch of a city.  It’s not my style.  I am barely interested enough in these aspects to do them in the towns and cities I live in.  So why do I spent so much energy doing it in places that I do not live.

My fascination lies in understanding how people live their life, not learning about the wealthy and leaders of a city.  I am much more interested in the life rhythms in a city.  The things that may not necessarily make it into a history book.   For example, when I visited Vatican City and saw the Sistine Chapel, I couldn’t focus on Michelangelo’s art work.  While beautiful, I couldn’t get pass the fact that slaves built the Vatican and many died doing so.

This is just how I see the world.  I have come to appreciate routine and normalcy.  I prefer visiting a city and people watching at a cute café over running around the city and trying to “see it all”.  I guess I have less appreciation for the products of the wealthy and educated of the past.  I prefer “life” and “normal” people’s stories.

I express gratitude for my appreciation by trying to have my peace and quiet each Saturday/Sunday morning that I can.  I also make it a point to tell people I’m visiting or traveling with that an itinerary isn’t necessary and that just “hanging out” is more than fine by me.

Have you learned a new appreciation this year?

From → Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

