Skip to content

Reverb 10 Challenge: Body Integration

December 14, 2010

December 12th’s Reverb10 Prompt author is Patrick Reynolds from The Knowledge Workers Survival Guide.

Body integration. This year, when did you feel the most integrated with your body? Did you have a moment where there wasn’t mind and body, but simply a cohesive YOU, alive and present?

I bet Patrick Reynolds meant this prompt to be about a positive moment of integration… an alive that makes you want to live more and a present that is memorable in a positive sense.  But that’s not the something that comes to mine for me.

My moment of body integration is probably better described as a moment of my body running my mind and my mind not caring.

My moment happened when Hubs and I were in our final moving out of Chicago days.  The semester had just ended, we graduated with our PhDs, we finished all our TA work.  We were mentally exhausted and had not done much packing for move out day.  So for about 3 days straight we packed and moved and packed some more.

My body hurt so bad from the standing, packing, and moving that I remember feeling sharp pains in my calves, back, sides, neck, and forearms.  The mental and physical fatigue wore on me.  I couldn’t think.  I could only feel the muscle and joint pains.  The pain in my body caused me to be equally nasty on the outside.  Hubs and I snapped at each other on many occasions.  My mind and my body were one and the same… my body won!

I felt alive because only a person alive could feel that horrible.  I was present because I couldn’t escape the fatigue and the pain.

Thank goodness we survived the pain and moved on to Boston.  Life continues and I’ve learned that I’m capable of all that fatigue and pain and probably a little bit more.

Do you also have a negative moment of body and mind integration to share?

From → Life

2 Comments
  1. My moment of integration was during the 22 mile hike on Kaui’s Kalalau trail along the Na Pali coast. Heat, carrying a 25 lb. pack, difficult ascents and descents with scary cliffs caused my mind an body to become one. Focus, concentration, mind over matter. Was this a “being in the zone” experience? Maybe. The beauty of this wild trail made it worthwhile, but I can truly say I will not hike that way again.

  2. Mine was pretty negative, too. Basically trying not to get thrown off a horse and die. Yeah, it was interesting.

Leave a Reply

