Skip to content

Reverb 10 Challenge–Beautifully Different

December 9, 2010

December 8 – Beautifully Different.

Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

(Author: Karen Walrond)

Wow, these prompts are getting harder and harder.  If you thought this prompt would be easy for me after writing about letting go of senseless modesty, you would be wrong.

Different?  I don’t know if this makes me different, but I feel like one of my defining characteristics is that I am passionate.

Barbara00045

It would not be unheard of for someone to call me feisty, over the top, a rebel, sincere, committed, devoted, or outspoken.  These are all things that make me passionate.  When I commit to something, I go all the way.  If you hit a hot button topic with me, you better be ready for an all out debate.  It’s rare that I let down.  For example, I love my work.  I’m a professor who gets to teach and do research.  I take my teaching and my research very personally because I am passionate about them.  Because I am passionate about them, I take them seriously.  If you mess with one of these areas of my life, I will take it personally.  I do not compartmentalize my work life and my personal life.  They go hand-in-hand for me.  I live both simultaneously.  You mess with one, you mess with the other.  I am passionate, I take it personal, and yes, I get emotional about it too.  You have a problem with that?  Try me….

That’s what makes me… me.  For better and for worse, that is me.  Today, I have come to accept it and embrace it.  Those closest to me probably hate me for it, but also can’t help but love me for it too.  It’s my heroic and fatal flaw.

What’s yours?  What makes you a unique snow flake?

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Being passionate and serious about your work and life is a wonderful quality! Like you said, it makes you – YOU! 🙂

  2. Passion is a great character trait. I’ve only been passionate about four things in my life – my three children and my previous work with a local AIDS organization.
    Living passionately is a blessing and a skill. It takes determination to stay focused on work/projects that help us feel excited and worthwhile, without losing sight of “normal” daily events. It is so important to notice stillness and appreciate small, non-outstanding occurences. Those are the times make up the majority of a life. I guess I’m passionate about peace and quiet.

  3. Being passionate is such a wonderful characteristic 🙂 You’re also incredibly sweet and really pretty.

Leave a Reply

