Skip to content

Reverb 10 Challenge: Community

December 7, 2010

Today’s Reverb10 prompt comes from Cali Harris of caligater.com

Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

Cali?!?!  You should read one of my first posts for my blog titled Can Community Exist Online?  Great minds think alike!

It is no surprise that I am going to bring up Weddingbee yet again.  If you’re following along, you’ll recall that I also mentioned Weddingbee as part of my Reverb10 Wonder post.  Just as getting married was a big part of my 2010, so was Weddingbee.  There’s something very special about this online community.  It’s a community of women who are currently planning or have planned a wedding.  Everyone understands the enormous pressure and work that goes into planning a wedding.  As is likely true for most planning brides, the stress is overwhelming.  The tension with people in your day-to-day life build incessantly. 

This is where Weddingbee came in.  The women here are supportive.  They give advice without tearing you down.  The bloggers themselves have been invaluable to me.  The mutual sharing that we go through helps to create this bond that exists through mutual sharing.  I think that’s what makes the Weddingbee bloggers such a strong community for me.  They disclose their inner thoughts, fears, and struggles.  And in return, I disclose mine.  This mutual sharing… give and take can occur anywhere.  The internet is just the next frontier, and those of us who have been able to find and establish communities here are the early settlers, the explorers.  We are setting the norms for the next generation of explorers.

In 2011, I hope to join into a community here in the Boston area.  I moved here with Hubs this summer for a new job.  I have no friends here.  My colleagues are all about 10+ years older than me.  I work all kinds of crazy hours.  Even so, I hope that this time next year I will be able to report back about a community of friends in the Boston area. 

Help me out,  I have no time.  How do I make friends here?

From → Life

5 Comments
  1. I’ve actually had some good luck with the local boards on thenest.com (Offshoot from theknot.com)

  2. Ken & I will be in your Boston community, Nellie!!!

  3. I’m so happy to have met you through Weddingbee 🙂 I hope you’ll come visit CA again soon!

  4. Yay for Weddingbee love one again. I totally agree – those of us who are involved with online communities now are definitely the pioneers for what will become the norm in years to come!

Leave a Reply

