Skip to content

Reverb 10 Challenge: Wonder

December 4, 2010

Today’s reverb10 prompt comes from Jeffrey David from The Journey from the Center to the Page.

How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year?

According to The Free Dictionary, wonder means the following:

1. a. One that arouses awe, astonishment, surprise, or admiration; a marvel: "The decision of one age or country is a wonder to another" (John Stuart Mill). b. The emotion aroused by something awe-inspiring, astounding, or marvelous: gazed with wonder at the northern lights.

2. An event inexplicable by the laws of nature; a miracle.

3. A feeling of puzzlement or doubt.

4. often Wonder A monumental human creation regarded with awe, especially one of seven monuments of the ancient world that appeared on various lists of late antiquity.

In 2010, I cultivated my sense of wonder by blogging.  At the start of 2010, I applied to be a Weddingbee blogger.  To my utter surprise, they accepted me.  I had no idea what would happen because of blogging, but I was curious.  It has seriously changed my life.  I joined a community of awesome women at Weddingbee, and I’ve tapped into something that really makes me more thoughtful about the world I live in.  Instead of merely journaling, I think about my writing style, developing my voice, and engaging my reader. 

I also write differently.  I have a better grasp of writing style and how it can differ depending on one’s audience.  As a researcher, I write a lot.  Writing for work started to feel rigid and lackluster.  I felt like I was writing in formula instead of ideas.  I lost my curiosity and wonder in my work.  Blogging has inspired me in new and different ways.  Blogging has given me a reason to practice writing as an art, and re-develop my love for communicating and dissemination of words and ideas. 

Thank you blogging community and those who have followed my blogging journey this year.  To you all and my fellow Weddingbee sisters, I owe you a lot.  Thank you for rejuvenating my love for writing, helping me to continue to improve my writing, and for giving me a forum to share my wonders throughout the year. 

At this time next year, I hope to still be blogging and to be thanking all of you again.

What have you cultivated wonder in your life this year?

signature

From → Life

3 Comments
  1. Breezy permalink

    Aww–sweet! Love this one HW!

  2. I love this post! Great reflection, Nellie!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Reverb 10 Challenge: Community « Wired, Witty, & Well-dressed

Leave a Reply

