Skip to content

Reverb 10 Challenge: Moment

December 3, 2010

Today’s Reverb10 prompt comes from Ali Edwards of Memory Keeping Idea Books.

Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors).

I am one of the lucky few to have a photo of THE MOMENT.  Here it is courtesy of friend and bridesmaid Raechel of Run into Flowers.

Chel4

It’s hard to deny that our wedding is one of the major highlights of this year.  A moment is so brief, and our wedding lasted an entire day.  Yet, when I think back on our wedding day, the moment that sticks out the most… the moment that is forever imprinted in my mind… is this very moment that Raechel captured.

Hubs and I are dancing at our wedding reception.  The hustle and bustle of the day behind us.  The drama of running out of alcohol over.  The obligatory photos and visiting guests done.  All that remained was the newly wed couple.

I can’t even remember the song that was playing because it didn’t even matter.  The moment was all about us.  I don’t recall smells or people or sounds.  The sensation that I felt overwhelmed all my other senses.  My new husband had tears in his eyes, red cheeks, and he looked at me the way that every woman longs to be looked at.  My heart raced.  I had to remember to breathe slowly.  I swear if I tried to utter a word, my voice would have cracked and I might have lost it.  It was a moment of pure joy teetering on emotional.  I knew with all my heart and soul that he wanted that day to happen just as much as I did if not more.  He held my hand by his heart and I knew that this was it.  He is it.

Planning a wedding is rough.  I was stressed a lot of the time.  I am happy to let the entire day be a memory that I relive through photos, video, and memory only.  But then I remember this moment, I melt.  I would do it all over again just to be in this moment.  It wasn’t just the moment of this year, it was a moment of a lifetime.  The image is so etched in my mind that I know that I will still be able to recall it in my old and hopefully not so scatterbrained later life days.  Just writing it brings me back to that moment… ahhh..

What is your moment of the year?

From → Life, Photography

3 Comments
  1. This post made me so happy. I’m getting married in May, and you’re so right about it being tough to plan a wedding. But this post shows me that all the stress will be worth it, because in the end you have your husband, and the moments that melt your heart.

  2. Aww, I had a photo for mine, too! 🙂
    You’re so beautiful in yours!

  3. *Sigh* that photo makes me smile….

Leave a Reply

