Skip to content

Reverb 10 Challenge: Writing

December 2, 2010

Leo Babauta from Focus Manifesto really has me thinking today.  His Reverb10 prompt states:

Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?

I am a writer and author by trade.  As a professor and researcher, my job is to teach college students how to write about psychology, grade student’s writing, and disseminate my work through writing.  With this in mind, I instantly went into defensive mode.  Is this prompt suggesting that I am avoiding the art of writing by doing other things?  Is it suggesting that I’m suppose to only be working on my writing and all other aspects of my life are suppose to support my writing?  Well, yes.  Having a life away from writing gives me inspiration and rejuvenates my mind so that I can write.  So instead of being defensive about this prompt, I’ll actually attempt to answer it.  My answer may be a bit odd, but I found great pleasure in making it slightly obscure.

I am not a person of routine.  I’m the type of person who likes to mix it up on occasion in fear of the routine.  On occasion, I’ll ask Hubs if we can sleep backwards.  Why?  Just because we don’t normally. 

However, after 4 years of living with Hubs, one thing has become completely routine in my life…. my morning protein shake.  This is actually something that happened just this year.  So this is one of the few things that I do “each day”.

IMG_3006

Excuse the glass 1/4 full.  I was finishing up my morning shake while writing this and realized a photo might be delightful. 

Hubs is a creature of routine.  He likes his standard sandwich and is excited to eat it everyday.  As mentioned earlier, I am the type of person who has to switch it up.  Thus, I find Lean Cuisines and other frozen meals incredibly delightful.  I get a different flavor each day.

This routine has very little to do with my writing.  Except for the nutrients that this shake provides, it could definitely be eliminated and replaced with something different.  I don’t find inspiration for writing through it.  I could easily change this routine and still get the nutrients I need to sustain my work and writing.  This is one of the few things in my life that I do because it’s simple and gets the job done.

Will I change it for next year?  Probably not.  Although I have come to feel blah about the smoothly, I’m not motivated enough to change it.  

How’s that for an answer?

From → Food & Drinks, Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

