Skip to content

I Am My Own Hero

December 2, 2010

Amanda Visell via Switcheroo

Heck yes… thank you very much.  I first saw Amanda Visell’s posters for girls on Kimberly Michelle’s blog (aka Mrs Lemon on Weddingbee).

I once wrote a rather controversial post on Weddingbee titled “Bridal Princess Dream”.  Many readers who disliked my post commented that they felt that people too often focused on the portrayal of Princesses and didn’t pay enough attention to the men in the movie.  These people lost my point.  Why would I write a wedding post about the bridal princess and ask people to consider and critique men in Disney movies?

Amanda Visell’s poster reminds me of this post because it highlights another reason why I came to reconsider Disney princesses.  I don’t want to be saved.  I want to know that I can save myself, thank you very much.  Another interesting note, one of my fave Disney women is Mulan, who isn’t a princess, and who saved her family.

To be clear, I have no problem with other’s that like Disney princesses, it’s just not for me.  I want to kick butt and be my own person hero.

Would it be weird if I got this poster for the future kids I will or will not have?  I think I’d be totally OK putting it in both a boy and a girl’s room.

From → Home

5 Comments
  1. I remember that Weddingbee post! Anyway, I think the print is great and would work equally well in a boy or girl’s room — the sentiment of it is great.

  2. sassandpancakes permalink

    I love this print and I am so with you on the idea behind it (and your WB post).

  3. It is only weird for you to get it for future children if it is weird for me to buy it for my own room instead of my kid’s :-). I LOVE this poster (and Mulan is my fave, too).

  4. 🙂 That’s such a cute print!

    I didn’t remember your post, but I went back to look at it via the link that you gave. Gotta admit, you got a little chuckle from me there. I never thought about any of the princesses that way… well, except for Jasmine. I never liked Jasmine.

    I can see what you’re saying, and for the most part, I agree with you. (Hmm… maybe for all the parts, actually.) I mean, as a girl, I never saw it. I didn’t look at hte princesses and think, “woah I gotta be pretty like her!” Or even, “I gotta be sexy like her!”

    Nah.

    When I was a kid, all I could think of was, I want to sing like Ariel, I want to be smart like Belle… I totally had my eye on different characteristics. Reading your post, as well as the comments you received, I don’t think I missed much. 😛

  5. Amen, WWWD! American culture still tells women they need to be dependent on men and that their beauty, perpetual youth and ditziness will win them a prince. Teach your children well. I am the proud mother of two feminist sons who, I believe, realize that gender is not what makes a person worthy. It’s what’s inside that counts.

Leave a Reply

