Skip to content
Tags

Oh To Be Thankful

November 29, 2010

I’m not much of a Thanksgiving person, so perhaps this is why I’ve waited until the week after to write this post.  I do think it’s healthy to be reminded to be thankful.  I have so much to be thankful for this year.  SO.VERY.MUCH.  It was an eventful year full of events and a huge roller coaster of emotions.  Most of you probably know me best for the wedding that I chronicled on Weddingbee.  But so much more happened this year than that wedding.  So I’d like to tell you about some of these.

Hubs and I finished our Ph.D.s.  We both got jobs.  We moved from Chicago to Boston.  We got married.  These are the obvious things to be thankful for.

There are two people we are particularly thankful for this year.

March 09 (2)

These are the kind of thanks that are not as obvious.  Hubs and I both lost our paternal grandfathers this year.  I am thankful that both our grandfathers passed peacefully after long and prosperous lives.  Hub’s grandpa passed right before the new years.  I am thankful that in my last visit with him last Thanksgiving, we had a private moment.  Hubs had left the room.  He leaned over, held my hand, looked me in the eyes, and told me “I’m going to miss you.”  He and I both knew what he meant.  May you rest in peace Grandpa A.

157_5798

My grandfather lived to nearly 100 years!  He lived his life in Vietnam without the help of many of the medical marvels that we have in the U.S.  It’s amazing he lived so long.  I’m incredibly thankful to have known him and to have gotten his blessing for our wedding this year.  My dad believes he held on for an extra month because he wanted to wait for me to be married.  He had such a strong spirit for life.  He refused to retire until he was well into his 80s, and even then he tried to do make small business deals out of his home.  My drive, ambition, and love for life definitely has something to do with him.  I’ll miss you Grandpa T, may you rest in peace.

And because Grandpa T LOVED food and thought he was so sneaky for having a beer in the late mornings when people weren’t watching, I’ll end by saying… I’m also thankful for coffee and bacon.  Without these two, life just may not be worth living.

Are you thankful for some not so obvious things/people this year?

From → Life

2 Comments
  1. Aw, I’m sorry to hear both your and Nick’s grandfathers passed away. What a sweet way to be thankful for them and their lives, though! I’m also super impressed your grandfather lived to nearly 100. I think the not so obvious person I’m thankful for this year is a coworker who keeps me sane in lab and lets me give him {unsolicited} advice on his upcoming wedding without complaining, haha!

  2. Dear WWWD,
    Yes, there is much for which to be thankful. We take our every day lives for granted. Each night at dinner my husband and I say a small thanks for all the blessings in our lives. It’s a small thing, but it helps us remember that each day is a blessing and our lives are very rich when welook around and see so many people wanting for simple necessities.
    Thanks for the reminder!

    Mama M.

Leave a Reply

